Kloster is a solo project, a band, and a music collective curated by and based on the song writing of Mikael Rahbæk Andreasen. Based out of his home studio in Copenhagen, Mikael spends his time creating musical thoughts with the help of friends who drop by. The atmosphere is relaxed, the music being something that brings people together in a creative expression. Self-taught and with a curious mind, the songs are based around an idea of cheery exploration, a collage of ideas added to by people who pass through with their own offerings. The songs circle around spiritual matters and tend to focus on vocal melodies wrapped in beautiful chords and tones.

Since 2001, Kloster has released seven albums, three EPs, a live recording, a few singles and has made numerous live appearances in Denmark, Norway, Sweden, England, The Faroe Islands, Germany, and Poland at regular music clubs and festivals such as Roskilde FestivalFanø Free Folk FestivalApple Flower FestivalKamerad & Spelemann, and many others, and also at more unusual venues such as a light house on the west coast of Denmark, a theater in London, a wooden barn deep inside the forests of Norway, a church on the Faroe Islands, the old Carlsberg brewery building, the Louisiana art museum, a grotto north of the Polar Circle, and various other exciting and beautiful places.

Kloster has been releasing music on Washington Inc Records, L’art pour L’art, VME, Crime & Punishment Packaged Goods, Target Records, Burnt Toast Vinyl, and Moondrop Records.

Kloster’s album ‘Half Dream, Half Epiphany’ was nominated for album of the year both at Steppeulven 2016 and at Danish Music Awards Folk 2016.

Mikael Rahbæk Andreasen won the Composer of the year award at Steppeulven 2016.

Currently, Kloster is working on songs with lyrics by the late Danish poet Simon Grotrian.

Contact: mikaelandreasen@gmail.com or contactkloster@gmail.com



kloster-dmaPhoto: Bo Petersen